Compensation Questions

0 Votes
0 Answers
2.02K Views
Joining a startup

Possible Duplicate: Forming a new software startup, how do I allocate ownership fairly? Apologies for the lack of brevity, but I wanted to give you a full picture of the situation. Appreciate...

asked Nov 18 '12 at 21:45
Blank
Aj Yusuf
1 point

0 Votes
1 Answers
2.47K Views
We are bootstrapping our startup, Is this a fair compensation offer?

Possible Duplicate: Forming a new software startup, how do I allocate ownership fairly? We have a team made up of four co-founders. Our equity split is: Co-founder #1 40% Co-founder #2...

asked Oct 20 '12 at 07:41
Blank
Derek
164 points

6 Votes
7 Answers
3.07K Views
Potential offer as first employee at startup, worth it?

I am a software engineer with about 2 years experience and currently at a big tech company. I have an offer to join a startup that has just received seed funding of 250k and they're about 6 months...

asked Oct 4 '12 at 18:06
Blank
Rob
31 points

12 Votes
4 Answers
2.62K Views
Expanding development team for a startup

I'm a software developer and co-founder of a start up that's in a sprint to launch a web app the next 2 months. We have about 3 months of burn time we have before we need to get some funding. By...

asked Sep 28 '12 at 03:58
Blank
Acjohnson55
181 points

2 Votes
5 Answers
2.91K Views
Working as early employee but not get paid

I got hired as an early employee (employee #4) and considered as key engineer of the company. As compensation, I got some stock option grant (1%), and well below market salary (about 30% of what I...

asked Sep 17 '12 at 00:45
Blank
T. W.
11 points

2 Votes
1 Answers
2.41K Views
How should early employees be compensated if founders have left and the company has pivoted?

I realize that Joel Spoelsky has written an extensive summary of how equity should be allocated (namely, fairly), but I was wondering how things might differ in slightly different...

asked Aug 1 '12 at 06:15
Blank
Nt3 Rp
115 points