Equity Questions

Equity is ownership that both the business owner and investors have in a company.

4 Votes
4 Answers
5.71K Views
How should a developer determine their stake in an early startup?

I am a developer that has been asked to take part in an early stage startup (no investors yet other than the principals themselves). There is some code in place for the product and I would be...

asked Aug 18 '10 at 12:52
Blank
Garbage In Garbage Out
123 points

2 Votes
2 Answers
2.62K Views
How to approach potential advisors? (who are famous)

I have a couple of people I would just love to have as startup advisors, but not sure how to approach them. One in particular has greatly impacted my startup and gave tons of solid ideas on how to...

asked May 19 '10 at 21:22
Blank
Griftastic
127 points

4 Votes
2 Answers
2.94K Views
How the 1.5 factor in Paul Graham's equity equation is obtained?

In "The Equity Equation" essay http://www.paulgraham.com/equity.html Paul Graham says... "If your valuation grows 3x a year, the total cost in stock of a new hire's salary and overhead is 1.5...

asked Jun 2 '10 at 21:38
Blank
Xavi
21 points

0 Votes
2 Answers
3.08K Views
How much equity in exchange for angel money?

I am not sure what the going rate is for angel money in the software space is it 100k for 10% equity?

asked May 1 '10 at 00:12
Blank
Stacey
484 points

3 Votes
3 Answers
3.45K Views
Invester Gets Equity for Money to Pay Developer for MVP VS. Developer gets Equity for MVP

We started our business back in July 2009 with the intentions of building websites, consulting, internet marketing, etc. Now we have changed our focus to developing a SaaS solution for a...

asked May 9 '10 at 01:09
Blank
Csumme
146 points

3 Votes
4 Answers
10.7K Views
Startup Advice -- Attracting "Unpaid" Talent