Open Source Questions

3 Votes
1 Answers
2.16K Views
Start an Open Source Development

I am a freelance developer and I basically develop ERP, graphics software, components, web and other such things. I always thought about an open source development of the software that I basically...

asked Jan 4 '11 at 04:43
Blank
Vinod Maurya
123 points

6 Votes
4 Answers
3.7K Views
Advantages and Disadvantages of Making Source Code Public

I like the idea of open source collaboration and making our code for our application we are building public on github. This would allow people to give their input and even allow certain parts of...

asked Jan 11 '11 at 07:25
Blank
User6488
31 points

2 Votes
5 Answers
3.25K Views
Where can I propose an open source project and collaborate on software requirements before starting to code?

I'm searching for a website to start a new open source project--I want to start the developing of a "Sport Training Log". I have some software development skills, but not everything I need (I...

asked Dec 20 '10 at 21:24
Blank
Boos
111 points

9 Votes
7 Answers
3.17K Views
How to turn a WordPress plugin into a business?

Over the past two years, I've developed a relatively successful WordPress plugin. It started out as a hobby project, but now I'd like to try and turn it into a business. About the plugin Checks...

asked Dec 3 '10 at 04:03
Blank
Janis Elsts
146 points

13 Votes
2 Answers
2.43K Views
"What if you get hit by a bus?"

I'm negotiating a B2B licensing deal for some technology. I typically license it as a managed service, and don't share code, because I want to protect trade secrets. A new potential client is...

asked Dec 3 '10 at 12:21
Blank
John
96 points

3 Votes
2 Answers
2.63K Views
How did Magento create an commercial Enterprise version when magento is open source?