Stock Options Questions

1 Votes
1 Answers
2.05K Views
Forming a C-corp: should I allocate Preferred stock from the get-go?

While creating my C-corporation on LegalZoom, a question asks how much should I issue of both Common and Preferred stock. What's a good rule of thumb for this?Is Preferred stock even needed if I...

asked Mar 2 '14 at 19:50
Blank
Jim Crowell
50 points

1 Votes
1 Answers
2.05K Views
Should you exercise your stock options early if your company allows it?

I'm a developer at a "startup" with a company size of over 50. While I am great at coding, matters like stock options and equity aren't my cup of tea.Is there any benefit to exercising the...

asked May 29 '14 at 16:30
Blank
Emerson Thompson
9 points

0 Votes
1 Answers
2.19K Views
What liquidity options does a founder have early on?

Is there any hope for a founder to sell shares between series seed and series A? After two years of getting a business off the ground with co-founders, I could use cash for family reasons. I have...

asked Feb 21 '14 at 06:28
Blank
User30169
1 point

1 Votes
1 Answers
2.74K Views
Failing to file 83(b) election

I worked for a start up for a year and I had 1/4 of my stock options vested. I decided to exercise the options and purchased it on 8/15. I gave them the check but it was not until last week (10/12)...

asked Oct 23 '13 at 07:21
Blank
Denniss
116 points

2 Votes
2 Answers
3.33K Views
How can a founder structure the stock options pool to get guaranteed percentage?

Let's say I have a company where I am the founder and also have 2 employees - E1 and E2. Let's say there are 1000 authorized shares, but only 800 of them are issued. 600 of those shares are...

asked Oct 8 '13 at 04:45
Blank
Salmon
970 points

1 Votes
1 Answers
2.74K Views
Different vesting schedules among founders