Server Questions

1 Votes
7 Answers
7.57K Views
Server costs for video startup

I've been going over some of the posts here regarding server costs but couldn't really find any information specific to my needs. I'm planning on creating a mobile app that deals with users...

asked May 21 '12 at 05:40
Blank
Zipper
6 points

2 Votes
1 Answers
2.66K Views
Can ad revenue sustain this model?

Hello, I'm currently in the planning stages of a simple idea.. It's nothing major, I'm just a student and just want to get my feet wet.. However, as I think more and more about it, I'm more and...

asked Aug 9 '14 at 13:56
Blank
eXtreme
11 points

1 Votes
2 Answers
2.78K Views
Why do PaaS services like Heroku exist that simply re-sell Amazon AWS?

Why are services like Heroku so popular when all they really do is set up AWS servers (which is fairly easy) and significantly markup the price? You could easily setup the servers yourself and pay...

asked May 27 '14 at 13:43
Blank
George Hughes
9 points

0 Votes
1 Answers
1.67K Views
Cheap backend alternative for both space and processor "intensive"?

I have a start-up idea that is data-centric for users. This means that each user would have something like 5GB at least. But there is also a good amount of data processing, so I can't imagine have...

asked Nov 2 '13 at 00:49
Blank
Felipe Tanus
106 points

1 Votes
1 Answers
2.56K Views
Tax consequences of server location

We are about to set up our production environment in AWS and are wondering about the tax consequences of where the servers are located. We are a Swedish start-up and since AWS is cheapest in the US...

asked Oct 4 '12 at 16:15
Blank
Yrlec
108 points

3 Votes
2 Answers
2.74K Views
Physical server location and place of supply

I have a company which is based in the UK, but I myself don't live in the UK (I do come to the UK from time to time). The company has a registered office address in the UK, but not a physical...

asked Jun 3 '12 at 08:50
Blank
Lukeshek
452 points