Family Questions

2 Votes
3 Answers
2.34K Views
If someone is investing money as terms of a partnership is that money to be repaid as a loan?

My brother had an idea for a business and asked me to be his partner. His idea was for me to have 20% ownership and he has 80%. He is going to fund the business (at most $20,000) and believes that...

asked Apr 10 '13 at 23:32
Blank
Dina
11 points

0 Votes
3 Answers
2.47K Views
How to deal with unsupportive parents while creating a startup?

I've been telling myself for many years now I've wanted to create a company of my own and get out of the corporate misery. I am a software developer by trade, and have worked with a few startups...

asked Dec 13 '12 at 09:42
Blank
Code Talk
253 points

4 Votes
1 Answers
2.42K Views
Authorizing family to purchase supplies for my sole-proprietorship

I've registered myself as a sole-proprietor business in Ontario, Canada. My common-law partner often helps me with organization and other tasks. I want her to be legally able to purchase supplies...

asked Nov 17 '11 at 05:03
Blank
Philip K
166 points

2 Votes
2 Answers
2.31K Views
Ways to work around creating a startup when working a job with a restrictive contract

I am happily employed as a software developer currently and have no plans to leave. An amazing opportunity presented itself to my dad that just screamed of a lucrative niche market with only a...

asked Nov 12 '11 at 06:32
Blank
Maple Shaft
323 points

3 Votes
1 Answers
1.8K Views
How to tactfully respond to friends and relatives who say get a real job?

My friends and family who none of which own a company keep telling me I should get a job. From my perspective creating a job is a job. I explain that I am developing a software company and it...

asked Aug 25 '11 at 04:53
Blank
Waterfallrain
18 points

5 Votes
3 Answers
2.46K Views
How do I make my mother open a side business?