Domain Questions

2 Votes
2 Answers
2.3K Views
What are some pitfalls when registering a .com domain name and how do you avoid them?

I have no experience registering a .com domain name and am looking into how to do this. I came across a site which lists “10 things you must know before you register a domain name with anyone.” The...

asked Sep 29 '12 at 23:42
Blank
Rinzwind
116 points

0 Votes
2 Answers
1.78K Views
Domain name protection of international trademark

How strong / weak is owning a .com and / or other common domain extensions (.org, .net) as a means of protecting an international trademark? Assuming that the domain name does not infringe upon...

asked Sep 9 '12 at 20:58
Blank
Josh
11 points

2 Votes
2 Answers
2.04K Views
Split main website and core application

I have question about some organizational issue. Is a good idea to split my main information website (home, about, contact, ...) and my core application service to domain and subdomain? For...

asked Sep 14 '12 at 08:42
Blank
Grzegorz
144 points

6 Votes
5 Answers
3.23K Views
Choosing a URL: balancing a bad name with a great URL vs. a great name with a bad URL

Assume I've made a (hypothetical) online game where you equip two cats that rule small feifdoms, and they fight each other. I haven't done this! It's just an example. But say I did this, and I...

asked Aug 2 '12 at 04:39
Blank
Mattshepherd
133 points

7 Votes
3 Answers
4.15K Views
Domain name for startup taken by a broker, should we buy it before we've built a business around our name?

I'm launching a new project/company, upon which we've decided on a name that we really like. We're planning to first target the UK, before expanding worldwide. Unfortunately (and annoyingly), the...

asked Jul 5 '12 at 18:14
Blank
Anonymous
557 points

1 Votes
1 Answers
2.02K Views
Which business domain to forward to?