Competition Questions

4 Votes
2 Answers
2.14K Views
Should I apply for a job with a future competitor to get some inside knowledge?

I’m a web developer/designer and had a business idea for a website about 10 years ago which, for various personal reasons have only started to take the time to start building over the last few...

asked Mar 5 '12 at 15:10
Blank
Lloyd
360 points

-5 Votes
3 Answers
2.32K Views
What incentives could I offer to keep customers?

I'd like to start a business in the service industry (not a restaurant) with a very low barrier to entry (as such I can't give specifics). Aside from making the best product/service that I can,...

asked Feb 9 '12 at 15:23
Blank
Gili
178 points

4 Votes
5 Answers
2.74K Views
Create identical product and sell for half price?

I would like to compete in the software market and I thought that if I just present a product that provides the same functionality and is as good as its competitors and sell if for half the price...

asked Feb 1 '12 at 16:08
Blank
Cj7
124 points

11 Votes
4 Answers
2.78K Views
Running an aggressive promotion against a competing product

We want to run a promotion on our website. In the promotion, if someone can provide us proof of purchase of a competitor's software license, we will give them a free software license of our...

asked Dec 2 '11 at 04:01
Blank
James
58 points

0 Votes
2 Answers
2.29K Views
Taking the next step: Analysis of competition turns up demoralizing results, proceed on?

First of all thank you to everybody for my previous questions on this site, you inspire me to think about problems differently. My father and I had a great idea for a web based startup, we have...

asked Nov 15 '11 at 23:40
Blank
Maple Shaft
323 points

2 Votes
3 Answers
2.46K Views
How to determine competitor's pricing model when impersonating a customer is challenging