Accounting Questions

2 Votes
1 Answers
1.82K Views
Are shipping charges taxable?

I purchase products and resell them, adding services that relate to computers and technology. For example, I might purchase a laptop, install custom software and settings according to my customer's...

asked Sep 29 '11 at 11:40
Blank
J Yelton
113 points

2 Votes
3 Answers
2.55K Views
Novice questions on starting a business

Lets pretend I'm starting an on line company which sells email accounts; I have some (probably laughable) questions because I'm new to this: Do I have to register as a business with Companies...

asked Sep 10 '11 at 23:45
Blank
Jwbensley
113 points

0 Votes
1 Answers
1.73K Views
How to calculate margin on my marketplace app?

My marketplace app has been live for about 2 months now. Sellers list products with me, I handle the transactions, and then charge a 15% commission. If I pulled in, say, $500 last month on...

asked Aug 29 '11 at 23:24
Blank
W. Matthew Wilson
104 points

0 Votes
1 Answers
1.65K Views
Going with a CPA or Enrollment Agent

My business partner and I are currently looking for an accountant for our growing business. At the moment we have met with two different accountants. One was a CPA and one was an Enrollment Agent....

asked Sep 2 '11 at 00:25
Blank
Edgar Miranda
230 points

0 Votes
1 Answers
2.38K Views
When should we put salary under cost or expense?

We are currently structuring our book accounts and really do not have any idea when should we put employees salary under cost or expense. Some said that we should put it under cost but some others...

asked Aug 3 '11 at 21:10
Blank
Jpartogi
1,342 points

5 Votes
3 Answers
2.44K Views
How to record monies owed to me by my new startup? (bookkeeping question)

I have recently started a startup. I am totally bootstrapping the startup, and so costs are being kept to a minimum. There is no way the company can afford to pay me my normal (or even...

asked Aug 9 '11 at 15:45
Blank
Voidstar
55 points