Investment Questions

0 Votes
3 Answers
2.84K Views
How much equity to offer to investor

I am fully aware that this is asked frequently, but it will differ a lot depending on the type of business: I am just about to start looking for an investor for a startup in the UK, i dont want to...

asked Jun 15 '12 at 21:02
Blank
Darkcat Studios
190 points

0 Votes
1 Answers
2.51K Views
How does dotSub make money? Can I find out if it is profitable?

DotSUB allows anyone to upload videos and provides an interface for subtitling them - to anyone. Looking at the subtitles and their timing of appearance, Khan Academy seems to have crowdsourced...

asked May 24 '12 at 05:02
Blank
Aditya Menon
112 points

0 Votes
1 Answers
2.3K Views
Determining fund raising stage for venture capital

I've been running a site (community platform) for a couple years and now we are growing fast, getting strong user traction and started implementing a customer oriented business model. In order to...

asked May 20 '12 at 06:35
Blank
Jean Pierre
48 points

0 Votes
1 Answers
1.78K Views
What is the interpretation of "full protection" here?

Excerpt from a Venture Capital book: If an investor with a $100M fund has set aside $5M to invest in a particular company over its life, what proportion of the $5M should it invest in the first...

asked Apr 9 '12 at 00:44
Blank
Ryan
162 points

6 Votes
1 Answers
2.65K Views
When does the profit-sharing model break down?

Two co-founders and I have started a project that is going rather well. We sell a service that is paid on a monthly basis but that also has some up-front costs (revenues for us). Thus far we have...

asked Feb 5 '12 at 09:54
Blank
Daniel Gill
175 points

3 Votes
1 Answers
2.3K Views
How to create a well structured term sheet?

I been asked by a potential investor to create a term sheet. What should such document include and focus on expect how much I'm asking for and estimated costs of running the start-up? Is there...

asked Jan 19 '12 at 04:56