Venture Capital Questions

3 Votes
3 Answers
2.54K Views
Is venture capital appropriate here?

I'm a student and an iOS developer. I am trying to pay for advertising for my apps. Is this a situation where I'd want to raise venture capital? I develop my apps solo, sometimes my own ideas,...

asked Mar 23 '11 at 13:16
Blank
Moshe
409 points

2 Votes
4 Answers
2.51K Views
Odds of Finding Sponsor/Investor for New Website

I recently launched a website for developers (blackbeltcoder.com ). It's a free site that will employ an advertising business model. I'm very pleased with the rate of growth in the just over three...

asked Mar 24 '11 at 11:56
Blank
Jonathan Wood
120 points

5 Votes
5 Answers
2.87K Views
Would a voluntary fee work?

"How am I going to make money?" This is the question that's been bouncing around in my head for the last few months as I've been developing my site. Allow me to beat around the bush here, in order...

asked Mar 30 '11 at 04:46
Blank
Edit This
88 points

1 Votes
1 Answers
2.34K Views
Should we use "trigger event" investment milestones for additional rounds of capital?

One of our advisors recently suggested we consider using "trigger events" for our second round of capital. Along the lines of "I'll commit $50K now and if you get to 25K registered users by 6/30,...

asked Mar 31 '11 at 03:32
Blank
Warren E. Hart
2,181 points

1 Votes
2 Answers
3.25K Views
What are the differences between stocks, stock pool, shares?

Have read lots of different terms. I have no idea how they differ from one another. Things like, 20% stock pool for employees, and 1 million stocks, etc. Can someone enlighten me? Thank you.

asked Mar 16 '11 at 14:22
Blank
Victor
593 points

6 Votes
6 Answers
3.05K Views
Can a consumer oriented startup be .NET based?

I'm about to join a new startup as their CTO and we need to choose our server software stack. The client side is a mobile application (Android, iPhone, etc.) so the server side exposes an API and...