Shares Questions

5 Votes
2 Answers
2.52K Views
Payment methods and conditions for fresh startup

I am an Interface designer and a startup asked me to work with them. As of now they are only two people and do not have a budget, so they would offer a share in the company. I would be fine in...

asked Mar 23 '13 at 15:36
Blank
Lukas Oppermann
126 points

4 Votes
2 Answers
1.82K Views
Equity in a business driven by software?

I am completely new to negotiating equity, and I don't know where I stand with regards to pushing back on potential offers of equity based on a new project. If anybody could give me their view on...

asked Mar 26 '13 at 01:00
Blank
Dee Mac
123 points

1 Votes
1 Answers
2.03K Views
equity max of 23% split among "development" -- a ripoff?

I've been working on a project with three other people: one is a developer, one is a manager type, and one is a sales type. I'm a developer. The two developers were invited into the project by the...

asked Mar 29 '13 at 13:28
Blank
Brannon
146 points

1 Votes
1 Answers
2.1K Views
Angel or VC wants to invest, what are main arguments to negotiate shares vs investment?

what are main arguments to negotiate shares vs investment? I want to be prepared when the time comes and I don't want to figure out in the moment about the negotiation about shares split and how...

asked Mar 30 '13 at 04:00
Blank
South
176 points

5 Votes
4 Answers
2.63K Views
Partner leaving at an idea-stage start up

This question might sound dumb, but I'm at a complete loss of what to do. My friend and I discussed starting a web site business years ago. For about a year and a half, we met every other weekend...

asked Mar 10 '13 at 23:42
Blank
Mimi
26 points

0 Votes
1 Answers
2.09K Views
Equity split 50/50 and past contributions

I've checked other questions but none cover the topic of past contributions. I'm wondering how much weight does time spent before incorporating matter. Do Founder A earlier contributions have...